Geography of Sudan

Known in Arabic as the "land of the black peoples", Sudan is a Republic located in Northeast Africa bordered by Egypt and Libya to its north and the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ethiopia and Kenya to its south. The largest of the African countries, it also has the most diverse geographical features ranging from the Sahel to the rainforest and mountain regions. 6% Sudan is arable due to extensive irrigation and its position on the Nile River System.