International awards

    For his literary work and civic activities, especially as a human rights champion, Vaclav Havel was awarded numerous prestigious international prizes:

  • The Erasmus Prize –1986
  • The Olof Prize – 1989
  • The Simon Bolivar Prize - 1990
  • UNESCO (Prize for teaching of Human Rights)-1990
  • The Chalemagne Prize - 1991
  • The Sonning Prize - 1991
  • Theodor Heuss Prize (1993)
  • The Grand Cross of the Order of the Legion of Honor - 1990
  • Medal of Honor by Bush
  • Jackson H. Ralston Prize by Stanford Law School – 1994
  • Holder of honorary doctorates of the universities:
  • 1982

  • York University, Toronto, Canada
  • Le Mirail University, Toulouse, France
  • Columbia University, NY USA
  • Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel
  • Frantisek Palacky University, Olomouc, Czechoslovakia
  • Charles University, Prague, Czechoslovakia
  • Comenius University, Bratislava, Czechoslovakia


  • The Free University of Brussels, Belgium
  • St. Gallen University


    Books and Plays:

  • Candles in the Dark Foreward by Havel

  • Spontaneous Mind Preface by Havel

  • The Art of the Impossible politics as Morality in Practice: Speeches and Writings, 1990-1996 by Havel

  • The Beggar’s Opera by Havel

  • Disturbing the Peace a conversation with Karen Hvizdala by Havel

  • The Garden Party by Havel

  • Largo Desolato a Play in 7 Scenes by Havel and Tom Stoppard

  • Open Letters selected writings, 1965-1990 by Havel

  • The Power of the Powerless: Citizens against the State Central-Eastern Europe by Havel

  • Summer Meditations by Havel

  • Temptation a play in 10 scenes by Havel
    Vaclav Havel or Living in Truth 22 essays pulished on the occasion of the Award of the Erasmus

  • Prize to Vaclav Havel by Havel

  • My Companions in the Bleak House by Havel and Eva Kanturkova

  • Irreconcilable differences? Explaining Czechoslovakia’s Dissolution edited by Michael Kraus and Allison Stanger by Havel

  • Postnational Identity critical theory and existential philosophy in Habermas Kierkegaard, and Havel by Havel and Martin J. Matustik

  • The Year of the Frog by Havel and Milan Simecka translated by Gerald Turner

  • …I Never Saw Another Butterfly… Children’s Drawings and Poems from Terezin Concentration Camp 1942-1944 editted by Havel and Hana Volavkova

  • Image Processing: Analysis and Machine Vision by Havel, Milan Sonka, Roger Boyle

  • The Night of the Barbarians: Memoirs of the Communist Persecution of the Slovak Cardinal by Havel, Jan Ch Korec, Emil Vontorcik, Richard Gaughran, Ivan Reguli, Jan Chryzostrom, Pope John Paul II

  • Open Letters: Selected Prose by Havel

  • Courage of Strangers: Coming of Age with Human Rights Movement by Havel

  • The Memorandum by Havel

  • Increased difficulty of concentration by Havel

  • Redevelopment by Havel

  • The Prague Summer of '68 by Havel

  • Letters to Olga (from prison) by Havel

  • Letter to Husak (to post prevent) by Havel